Skip to content

W3C WAI improves resource translation support

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) has significantly improved its content so that it is much easier to locate documents such as the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) standard documents and associated resources in a variety of languages.

The All Translations section on the W3C website provides expandable menus based on a number of languages whereby the selection for a particular language will expand to show all current W3C WAI translations in that language.

The resource currently features categories based on the following languages:

  • Arabic
  • French
  • German
  • Greek
  • Spanish
  • Japanese
  • Dutch
  • Russian
  • Simplified Chinese

In addition, W3C WAI appears to be relaxing its strict processes relating to document translations, seeking volunteers to get involved. This will hopefully increase the number of documents supported in other languages.

While at the time of writing some language categories are placeholders such as Arabic, it is encouraging to see more effort being put into an area which has traditionally been a weak point in the provision of accessibility standards in different languages.

Published inUncategorized